sundried tomato and basil pesto

For Easter my mom gave me a new food processor! I’ve been wanting one for the longest, but just hadn’t gotten around to getting one. Thanks mom! So what better time to try it out than a midday brunch with some of my best friends. It’s nice to get out and away from my piles of work every now and then.

I really love pesto, and when I found this recipe with the sundried tomatoes I knew it was going to be a winner.

Sundried Tomato and Basil Pesto
(recipe from Williams Sonoma)

(photo from instagram)

What You Need:

1/2 cup pine nuts
1 clove garlic (or more to taste)
2 cups fresh basil leaves
1/2 cup sun-dried tomatoes, preferably packed in oil
1/2 cup Parmigiano-Reggiano, grated
1/2 extra-virgin olive oil
Salt and pepper, to taste

What You Do:

Saute the pine nuts and garlic for a few minutes

Combine all the ingredients in a food processor until they’re all chopped and mixed

Serve!

Messiness – So clean! You’re jsut tossing it all in the food processor and voila!

Simplicity – I was running late, as usual, for this lunch and was nervous because one of my friends had to leave for work. Luckily it took 15 minutes from beginning to being served. First time ever making it and it only took that long.

Budget – This is absolutely delicious, but not super cheap. For these ingredients it was a little over $20, but it bought enough to make two different batches. So I guess when you break it down, one batch makes five servings. So each one is about $2. It’s a lot to spend all at once on ingredients, but when broken down, you’ll feel much better about it, and besides, it’s amazing!

Delicious Factor – This was the perfect Saturday midday dish served with mimosas. The flavor is light but unmistakable, and the sundried tomatoes add a special taste to the pesto. It’s so good in fact, I made more the very next day.

Leave a comment