2-Minute Egg and Cheese Breakfast Sandwiches

Now that I don’t have a job that begins at 6am, I’m trying to adopt a lifestyle that lets me get my important things done in the morning, and then I can relax at night. For me, this typically means working out, writing for 30 minutes in the morning, and squeezing in 10 minutes of yoga meditation. What’s weird though, is that since I’m trying to achieve so much in a matter of hours, I find myself shortchanging my breakfast.

I’ll grab a drive-thru Starbucks spinach feta wrap, or heat up some oatmeal at work, but truth be told, I’m usually starving by then.

So, I needed an easy solution to having a healthy breakfast without it cutting into my new routine.

My answer was simple. Scramble eggs + toppings in a coffee mug, microwave it for 1-2 minutes, which is as long as I like my English muffins to toast. 2 minutes and 30 seconds later, you’ve assembled a scrambled egg sandwich. Healthy, portable, and the cleanup is just your coffee mug.

breakfast sandwich

Here’s how to do it:

What You Need:

1-2 eggs (I do 1 egg 1 and 1 egg white)

Cheese

Tomatoes (chopped)

Spinach

Salt, pepper, etc. (whatever seasonings you like in your scrambled eggs)

1 English muffin (or bagel)

 

What You Do:

Crack the eggs into the mug and mix scramble with a fork

Add in the toppings and seasonings; mix together

Microwave for 1 minute; if it doesn’t look cooked, continue cooking for 30 seconds at a time (after you do this twice, you’ll get a sense of how long it will take)

Toast your English muffin/bagel

When the eggs and muffin are done, assemble into a sandwich

 

TIP: Wrap it in foil to keep it warm and portable if you’re on your way out the door

 

Messiness:

Not messy at all, especially since it’s all contained in the mug.

Budget:

Really cheap. It’s the same cost as scrambled eggs, or anything else you’d eat for breakfast. And over the course of a week, it’s cheaper than grabbing a fast food breakfast sandwich.

Simplicity:

It’s as hard as making mac’n’cheese in the microwave. If you’ve done that, you can easily make this. You can also play with your toppings. Add an avocado when you put the sandwich together, change up the cheese you use, add chunks of ham. There are lots of options for you.

Deliciousness:

I happen to LOVE scrambled eggs and breakfast sandwiches in general, so for me, this is about as good as it gets.
And, if you want to make it low-carb, just don’t use the bread, and eat your eggs right out of the mug. It’s completely self contained.

Leave a Reply

