tortilla española

As some of you may know, I spent a few months living in Sevilla, Spain. I loved my time there, and while I’m not a very adventurous eater, there were a few things that caught my attention and that I still can’t get enough of to this day. Of course, the one I loved the most is the most confusingly named and really close to our own omelet, only more fluffy an delicious.

Basically, “tortillas” as we know them in the western world aren’t really a thing in Spain. If you order a tortilla, you’ll get this:

tortilla espanola

What You Need and Do:

This is not what I normally do, BUT I stumbled upon a cooking site that not only tells you how to make things, but offers coupons for any of the ingredients. So, for the sake of saving money, I recommend you check this out HERE.

I will add that I’ve tried several recipes and ways to make this, and this recipe is also the most conservative in terms of how much olive oil to use.

Messiness:

Eh… It’s not too messy. Sure, potato peels can go everywhere, and working with oil means you need to wear clothes you don’t care about, just in case some splatters on you. But at the end of the day, it’s not too bad.

Budget:

Pretty cheap as far as meals like this go. Olive oil will be the most expensive part.

Simplicity:

Okay, this is my main piece of advice: cook the potatoes slowly and don’t rush them. If you rush them, they turn into french fries. That being said, accident fries in an omelet don’t really suck. Also, the part with the plate takes a lot of confidence. But don’t worry, I believe in you!

Deliciousness:

I mean, it’s a delicious potato-y omelet. What more do you want?

Leave a Reply

