summer harvest fruit salad

Lately I’ve been doing a lot of research to get better at food photography (which is so much harder than I ever thought it could be), and trying out new apps. Well, after I made this salad, I attempted to take some pics, and as soon as I got back to my computer, it turned out I had no idea how to use my chosen app, and all of those pics I thought I took didn’t even save.

Luckily, this recipe is really simple, and I only feel like I should share it because 1) there’s a mega heatwave and no-bake foods are so necessary 2) it’s sorta unusual.

So, here’s your sad pic that saved.

And here’s your recipe for a summer harvest fruit salad:

Summer Harvest Fruit Salad

What You Need:

1 ripe watermelon (cut in bite sized cubes or us a melon baller)

1 carton yellow tomatoes

1 carton blueberries

3 handfuls of spinach (optional)

What You Do:

Wash and mix toss together

If using spinach, I also added some salt and black pepper because why not?

 

Now, there aren’t any confusing or tricky parts to this except for choosing a ripe watermelon. If you were fortunate, like I was this time around, then save the excess juice from your watermelon. I had some cinnamon basil on hand so I muddled the juice with the herb, then added two parts vodka, one part juice/herbs, and one part water (or soda water). And voila! A fresh, nameless summer drink to go with your salad.

Messiness: Cutting fruit can get messy, which is why I opted to just use a melon baller. Also, it helped keep the watermelon juice nicely in the hollowed half so I could pour it into my drink.

Budget: As usual, I got all of these ingredients (minus the vodka) at the 99 Cent store, but in general these shouldn’t cost too much since everything is in season.

Simplicity: Are you ready to do the easiest thing you’ll do all day? Cool, then make this. 🙂

Deliciousness: I know what you’re thinking: Tomato? Really? Yes, really. These yellow ones are so sweet and juicy, they complement the fruity flavors well.

 

Sorry about the horrible, one picture. I’ll keep trying to improve… and any tips are welcome!

Leave a Reply

