5-minute tomato basil salad

The other day I got a very disturbing email. It was a Christmas decor email, describing gifts that I can start making now… in July. Well, that made me realize even though I failed at getting in super good shape for summer, I now have a chance to get in excellent shape for Halloween!

So, I’m doing my best to eat healthy at all costs, no matter what.

This past Saturday, I’ll admit, I was struggling. And trying to get more protein in my diet (I’m a vegetarian) has shown me how little veggies I’m able to sneak in now. It’s a balancing act for sure. And when I was faced with a simple pasta or a tomato basil salad, I chose the tomatoes.

For this, it’s as easy as it gets. If you have 5 minutes (to wash the tomatoes) then you’re done

WHAT YOU NEED

1 package grape, cherry, or whatever tomatoes you have on hand (halved if you want)

A few basil leaves

Salt (I used pink Himalayan because it’s what was around)

Balsamic vinegar

Feta, parmesan, mozzerella, or string cheese (that’s what I used)

 

WHAT YOU DO

Put the washed tomatoes in a bowl

Tear or cut the basil leaves

Add salt to taste

Top with Balsamic vinegar and whatever cheese you want to use

Leave a Reply

