lentil stuffed peppers

Let me start off by saying I am so SO sorry! I made lentil stuffed red peppers last week and thought to myself, “I wish I hadn’t already posted about these because they deserve to be remembered!” Well, guess what, I never posted this recipe. Yes, I posted a different one for stuffed peppers, but that was nowhere near as simple as this one. And for holding out on you so long, I apologize.

The good news is that I’ve realized my selfish mistake, and I’m here with a healthy, easy, and conscious-clearing recipe!

2015-02-12 18.23.35

First off, I want to explain why I love this recipe so much. It’s flexible. I tend to make this when I have no time, and produce that is going to go bad if I don’t make it. So, for this recipe, I tossed in some carrots and green onions, but feel free to add tomatoes, regular onions, potatoes (if you use potatoes, make sure to cook and boil them enough to be completely cooked through). This also makes it pretty inexpensive since you’re likely using stuff you already have in the kitchen.

Another reason I love this is that the peppers keep really well! I ate one of these each day, over three days, and it made for a quick and healthy lunch at work on Monday, as well as an easy dinner when I was feeling hungry and lazy on the second day.

Finally, and going back to my first point, you can make this recipe taste like almost anything you want, depending on the spices you use. I’ll give you the recipe for what I used this time, but honestly, I just rooted around in the cupboard to see what I could find. This recipe takes on a bit of a bland taste, but I also make these curried (basically just use curry, tumeric, and chili powder), Italian (use oregano, basil, and black pepper), as well as Mexican (chili powder, cayenne pepper, oregano).

So, now that I’ve written a novel on the many reasons I love this recipe, let’s get started…

2015-02-12 18.22.24

LENTIL STUFFED PEPPERS

What You Need:

3 peppers (tops cut off)

1 cup lentils

water

1 tsp mustard seasoning

1 tsp chili powder

1 tsp crushed black pepper (just whatever is in your shaker is fine)

1 tsp salt

1/2 cup baby carrots (chopped)

3 green onions (chopped, including the tops)

Panko bread crumbs (optional)

shredded cheese (optional)

 

What You Do:

Cook the lentils according to the package. I usually eyeball it, and just use water, but if you have veggie broth that is going to go bad, or if you just like veggie bread, then feel free to use that instead, or in addition to the water. But if all you have is water, that’s perfectly fine.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees

Halfway through the lentils cooking, add the carrots and white parts of the green onions, and continue to cook on medium heat, along with your spices

Once the lentils are cooked, stuff the peppers with them (you can give them a taste to see what other seasonings you need to add too)

Top the peppers with bread crumbs (optional) and shredded cheese (optional, but why wouldn’t you?! also, if you choose to use a different combo of seasonings, choose your cheese accordingly. For example, if I use Italian seasonings, I’ll use feta or parmesan cheese)

Bake the peppers for roughly 30 minutes (this doesn’t have to be precise. The longer they cook, the softer they’ll be, just keep an eye on the cheese to make sure it doesn’t burn)

2015-02-12 18.24.16

Messiness – The prep for this isn’t hard, but it does take some prep, like the chopping. And you’ll need both a pot and a pan. But I still wouldn’t consider this a messy recipe, especially since it keeps for so long!

Simplicity – It’s a totally customizable recipe, which means some people will see it as difficult, but some will see it as simple. This recipe listed tastes hearty, like a stew, and is great with some bread, or not. Totally up to you. What I’m getting at is that this is as simple or difficult as you want it to be.

Budget – For me, this was super cheap since I already had most of the ingredients. Also, you can usually find peppers for pretty cheap. I used red ones, and they were 88 cents each, but you can use yellow, orange, or green. Totally up to you depending on what you like.

Deliciousness – Love this! Like I spent way too long telling you, this is an easy go-to recipe for me, and I couldn’t love it more!

Leave a Reply

