simple sesame noodles

These days, I’m looking for anything that’s quick, easy, and packs in a good amount of veggies. Luckily, I found just that!

For some reason, I decided I wanted to make some cold sesame noodles. I looked up several recipes, and found that a lot of them called for fancy ingredients that I just didn’t have, and didn’t want to buy. So, I got a list comprised of several ingredients, from several different sites, and made my own sauce that is amazing, but most importantly it’s cost-efficient. I wish it was on everything I eat!

And for you meat eaters, simply toss some chicken on this, and you’re good to go!

What I think I like best about this though, is that it’s equally as good hot as it is cold, making it a good addition for dinner, or a cold pasta salad for lunch.

seame noodles

 

SESAME NOODLES

What You Need:

1 package pasta (I used whole wheat pasta, but any thin, stringy kind will do, including ramen noodles)

1 red bell pepper (sliced thinly)

1 orange bell pepper (sliced thinly)

1 yellow bell pepper (sliced thinly)

handful of cilantro (chopped)

1 cup shredded carrots

1/2 cup chopped green onions (optional)

3 garlic cloves (minced)

1/4 cup soy sauce

2-3 TBSP sesame oil

1-2 tsp chili sauce (like Sriracha)

1-2 TBSP white granular sugar (the normal kind)

1 TBSP canola oil (for the sake on consistency, can be removed if you aren’t a canola oil fan, just use light  olive oil so it doesn’t change the flavor too much)

1-2 TBSP rice vinegar (optional)

What You Do:

Cook the pasta/noodles

While cooking, mix the garlic, soy sauce, sesame oil, chili sauce, sugar, and rice vinegar (I made it without the rice vinegar and it was still wonderful, so if you  don’t have any, don’t let that keep you from making this) NOTE: start on the small end of the measurements because all of these ingredients have strong flavors. Taste it and decide how much to add of what

Prepare the bell peppers. No need to cook them, just slice them thinly.

Strain the noodles, then toss in your veggies and cilantro, top with the sauce. Depending on how much pasta you used, you will probably need to make another batch of sauce, but feel it out before you do.

 

Messiness – This is actually one of the least messy things I make that tastes this good. Just a pot to cook the pasta in, a cutting board, and a bowl to mix the sauce in.

Simplicity – SUPER simple. The good news is that you almost can’t screw this up. It’s just combining lots of wonderful flavors that compliment each other no matter what. The only things to be weary of are not going overboard on the sesame oil and the chili sauce for those with mild tastebuds.

Budget – This one ranks on my super cheap list. The sesame oil is around $5, so, a bit of an investment, but everything else should be right around $1 each, if not cheaper. The best part is that it makes a lot, lot, LOT of food. I’d venture to guess that I got at least 8-12 servings of pasta out of the package I used, and enough sauce for about half of that. All of this to say, there’s enough for a week of lunches and even dinners if I want.

Deliciousness – So yummy. I think the fact that it’s so simple just makes it taste better too!

Leave a Reply

