control

tumblr_m2mbniLKtl1rn0y7so1_500

 

Lately, I have been taught a lot of lessons in a short amount of time. But one of these has been more outstanding than the rest: I have no control over my life.

I’m not a control freak, in fact, I’m far from that, but I like to know what’s going on. I’m a planner, and I have a solution to every situation that can arise. However, I’ve learned that it is impossible to plan for everything. Impossible. We’ve all been thrown a curve ball here and there, something completely out of left field that we didn’t even know could happen.

When this inevitably occurs, what I’ve learned is that God, or whatever it is that you believe in, has the situation under control (personally, I believe in Jesus, and I’m happy to talk to anyone who has questions, but I don’t like forcing anything on anyone. Belief is a personal choice and should be treated individually as such. That’s just my opinion).

For me, I could never imagine the precise way that God has orchestrated my life recently, which made me realize, I need to give up complete control. There’s no point in even trying, when it is so clearly orchestrated, that I can’t even begin to fathom why God would spend so much effort on me.

Now, that also doesn’t mean I’m going to sit here and do nothing, waiting for life to happen. In fact, before writing this blog I made six To Do lists for my current projects.

Giving up control means continuing on with what you think you are supposed to be doing, but being open to variations, instead of letting them stress you out and make you anxious. I’m the type of person where an unplanned, spur-of-the-moment dinner plan can throw off my entire week. Why do I let that happen? A chance to connect with a friend can derail my plans for the week? How does that make sense?

Well, I’m here to tell you that God will derail the plans that you have for yourself, and you need to let it happen.

BUT I’m also here to tell you that if you’re like me, and you need control, you can still have it… over yourself. No matter what you’re dealing with, every day you can control how you react to situations. Maybe it’s an unexpected bill, and you’re not sure where the money will come from. Just trust in the ultimate plan, and control how you react to the situation. Maybe it’s a tantrum from your boss that causes you to stay late and miss yoga class. Again, you can’t control your boss, but you can control how you let the situation affect you.

So, this week, I challenge you to be controlling not of other people or situations, but of yourself. This week, try not to complain a single time about anything, or maybe you need to control giving into your impulses. Whatever it is, know that you can have control, while surrendering at the same time.

 

“The storm may rage without, but it cannot affect us if there is peace within.” – James Allen

Leave a Reply

