this goes out to my resolution breakers

anigif_enhanced-15758-1409795902-4

It’s Monday, January 5, 2015, and do you know what? I have broken some of my resolutions (but my resolution to floss is still holding strong! Mom should be proud). I didn’t work out on the 1st; in fact, I barely even left my bed. So, that whole, “Attack the day” resolution: not happening. Also, I ate four gobstoppers, two Twizzlers, and a handful of potato chips, so, that whole “strict diet” thing is done with.

Psych!

I’m here to tell you that even if you’ve broken one or all of your resolutions, it’s okay! The idea that we can suddenly wake up one morning as a superior version of the person we were at 11:59pm 12/31/14 is silly! Give yourself some grace, and understand it’s a process. The point is to learn the process, and eventually it will become ingrained in your life.

And to show you real numbers about how NOT alone you are in achieving your goal, here’s a study done last January by University of Scranton, and published in the Journal of Clinical Psychology:

chart

 

As you can see, you are FAR from alone in breaking your resolutions! But as the chart says, people who at least made them are more likely to achieve their goals than people who didn’t. So, you’re already getting a head start, even if you did just eat an entire tub of peppermint ice cream because it’s seasonal and I can’t have it until next year!

You still have 360 days to make this the best year of your life!

Leave a Reply

