southwest stuffed spaghetti squash or cheesy spicy squash… you pick!

I made a great photo by PhotoEditor Pro!(3) I made a great photo by PhotoEditor Pro!

I love Summer! I love so many things about it, but there’s nothing quite like Autumn.

Mostly because it’s cool enough for me to cook some of my favorite foods again! The other day, I went to Trader Joe’s, and saw a beautiful spaghetti squash that was just waiting to be stuffed and roasted… so that’s what I did.

Now, it’s still pretty hot in the city, so I decided to combine one of my favorite refreshing dishes, a southwest salad, and stuff the spaghetti squash with it!

If you haven’t tried spaghetti squash yet, I can’t encourage you enough to give it a go! Not only is it amazing because it takes on whatever flavors you want, but it’s also pretty filling, and you will feel like you’re eating pasta!

Healthy and cheap! We all win!

However, this time there’s a little twist… I made two different recipes. Here’s what happened:

My friend and I do a podcast every Wednesday night. And again, we decided it was too hot to make the squash, so we just made the salad. Today, I only had enough left to stuff one half of the squash, so I improvised on the other half!

(CLICK HERE for the southwest salad recipe)

I made a great photo by PhotoEditor Pro!(2)

What You Need (for southwest stuffed):

1 recipe of southwest salad

1 TBSP olive oil

1/2 TBSP garlic salt

What You Do:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees (to be honest, I just used my toaster oven. It creates so much less heat! But either will work)

Lightly coat exposed inner sides of the squash with olive oil (you may not need the entire 1 TBSP)

Put the unstuffed squash halves in the oven for 20 minutes

Add the southwest salad, along with some pepperjack, mozarella, or any other cheese you want, and cook for another 20-30 minutes

Using a fork, pull the spaghetti squash flesh out in spaghetti-like strings

Enjoy!

I made a great photo by PhotoEditor Pro!(1)

___

What You Need (spicy cheesy spaghetti squash):

shredded pepperjack cheese

shredded mozarella cheese

1 TBSP chili pepper

1 TBSP dried basil (you can use fresh if you want)

1 TBSP dried oregano

1 tsp crushed dried red peppers

1 TBSP garlic salt (or salt and garlic powder… or just fresh minced garlic if you have it!)

1 TBSP olive oil

What You Do:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees

Lightly coat exposed inner sides of the squash with olive oil (you may not need the entire 1 TBSP)

Sprinkle all of your spices on the exposed inner sides of the squash

Put the squash halves in the oven for 40-50 minutes

Using a fork, pull the spaghetti squash flesh out in spaghetti-like strings

Messiness – If you don’t have a good knife, then dealing with any squash is difficult. That said, I have a knife so dull that it fell right onto my foot, blade-down, and it didn’t even draw blood. And I still make spaghetti squash as often as I can.

Simplicity – SUPER simple. If you choose the southwest stuffed version, then that entire salad requires almost only canned ingredients, and the squash is just cutting, cleaning out, and baking. The other version only requires spices you probably already have. Easy peasy.

Budget – This time of year, you can find a good sized squash for anywhere between $1-3. Which is as much as a box of pasta, only way better for you. Also, the rest is just canned stuff that you may already have in your home.

Delicious Factor – I love this so much! It combines the flavors of summer with my favorite fall/winter vegetable. Also, who doesn’t love a healthier version of spaghetti?!

Leave a Reply

