getting my priorities straight

You would think that being a writer for a living would mean that I can’t get enough of it, but that’s not always the case.

So many times I’ve wanted to sit down and write a blog worthy of your time, but I just couldn’t figure out what it was that I had to say.

Sure, I still love cooking (and eating!!!), and I fully intend to continue sharing recipes, because I know how many wonderful ones I’ve found online that I couldn’t live without at this point. But over the last year, some things have become increasingly clear to me.

First, I’ve become very focused on overall health. Not only physically, but mentally; forcing myself to carve out time to strengthen my mind as much as I have my body.

This goes along with the second thing that has become clear to me, which is that I spend a lot of time trying to cultivate a positive mindstate, often coming away from each week with little things I have learned, and practiced. Skills like learning to let things go, because we often allow them to weigh so heavily on us.

I’m not an expert or a doctor anything, but I’m a person on a journey. On this journey, I’ve met other people wandering in the Wilderness of Self-Discovery, and we have traded nuggets of wisdom that have helped make me my best self ever.

So, for those of you that have followed me for my love of art, or my cheap and easy recipes, the good news is that I don’t plan to change any of that. However, I do plan on trying to help you live the happiest life possible, the best way that I know: through example.

If you happen to know me in person, that probably terrifies you, because I’m definitely one of those people who, for some reason, attracts the oddest situations ever. But it makes for great learning and teaching moments that I look forward to sharing with you.

With that in mind, I’ll leave you with this: Let’s be better today than we were yesterday.

Leave a Reply

