roasted veggies… simple and classic

Lately, I’ve been discussing recipes with a lot of friends, and I finally realized something: people my age (mid twenties), on the whole, have no idea how to cook simple, SIMPLE things. Things that our parents probably learned from just watching their parents.

However, since we’re the generation of fast food lovers, a lot of things in the kitchen seem daunting, including plain, ole roasted veggies.

This recipe wasn’t anything that was taught to me, it’s just something that I figured out one day.

As a vegetarian, I have to go to the store about twice a week to make sure the produce I’m using is fresh. There are still times though when all of my vegetables stack up on me, and I either have to eat them within the next day, or they’ll go bad.

So, one day, as I stared into my fridge, I realized I had a carton of cherry tomatoes, a zucchini and baby carrots that all needed to be eaten ASAP.

I sliced the zucchini and halved the tomatoes, and threw them all on a baking sheet. It really was that simple.

As time has gone on, I’ve thrown extras in there like sweet peppers, garlic and shallots, but you really can roast whatever it is that you want.

Roasted Veggies

What You Need:

Your favorite veggies (or whatever is thisclose to going bad) (cut into bite sized pieces)

1 clove garlic (chopped)

1 small shallot (chopped) (or onion if you really like the taste of onion)

2 TBSP Olive oil

Salt

Black pepper

What You Do:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees

Place the veggies, garlic and shallot onto a baking sheet (or a Pyrex, baking tin, whatever you have on hand)

Drizzle the olive oil over the veggies (if you have a lot of veggies, you might need more oil, but don’t go overboard)

Season with salt and pepper according to your tastes (mine ends up being about 1 TBSP salt, 1 tsp pepper)

Toss everything together

Roast in the oven for 35-45min (the edges of the veggies will turn brown and the shallot/onion will become translucent when they’re done)

Messiness – You only really need a baking sheet and a cutting board, so it’s not too messy at all. The sloppiest part is tossing the veggies!

Simplicity – This is so simple that many parents probably didn’t even think it was necessary to teach their kids. Just a little salt, pepper and oil can do wonders!

Budget – Considering this was all stuff that I had in my kitchen anyway, it cost nothing. However, you can find all of these things (when zucchinis are in season) at your local discount grocery store (or the 99 Cent Store, which is where I get most of my produce). And actually, it’s stretching your dollar since it’s stuff that would have gone bad anyway.

Delicious Factor – Yummy! If it didn’t look so much like vegetables, this would be such an easy way to trick kids into eating their greens because it tastes so good! A friend of mine thinks vegetarians are crazy because “food never tastes as good without meat.” Well, even this friend asks me to make these every time we hang out

Leave a Reply

