five days of food

I haven’t posted a new recipe in awhile and last week marks the first week that I broke my New Years Resolution of cooking one new thing a week. In my defense, I’ve been working 12 hour days at my “day job” and have a production meeting coming up for a script of mine (fingers crossed).

So needless to say, I have had little to no time to relax and enjoy a new recipe. However, this past week has made me very proud of myself. This time last year I could cook about two things, but now, I’m able to peek in the fridge, take a look around and cook something from there. It’s really quite an amazing feeling since I haven’t been able to cook for practically my whole life.

Since I haven’t had any new cooking experiences, I thought I’d share what my super-busy-starving-and-tired weeknight menu for the past week. If you’re a busy mom or even just a twenty-something putting in long days at the office, here ya go!

Roasted Asparagus

I LOVE this recipe, especially on Mondays. It’s so fast, easy and in season. You’re eating healthy, but the asparagus keeps you full, which is what you need if you have a case of the Mondays.

Pita Pizzas

Pita Pizzas are excellent on Tuesdays. Your week has started, but you’re still feeling pretty far from Friday. So what’s better than pizza? But the thing about Pita Pizzas is that you can make them with any toppings you want, and since you’re using a pita, they’re healthier than your standard pizza. If you’re a mom, this is a super easy, fun family dinner.

Homemade Tortilla Soup

It’s Wednesday, so chances are you’re in the middle of the hectic activities. Soccer practices, article deadlines, whatever. So the last thing you want is anything labor intensive. This tortilla soup is really just opening a few cans and simmering. It makes a ton of soup so you have leftovers later in the week if Thursday or Friday are too much for you to handle. It’s also delicious. 🙂

Lemon Parmesan Broccoli

It’s Thursday, and the last thing you want to do is cook, so don’t. Just chop up some broccoli and throw it in the oven. You’ve got a healthy, crunchy dinner (or side dish for you meat-eaters) in about 30 minutes with very little effort from you.

Roasted Chickpeas

It’s Friday! You made it through the week! You may have dinner plans, but if you don’t and your Fridays are 13 hour days, like mine, then you do not want to cook under any circumstances. It doesn’t get much easier than opening a can and tossing the contents into an oven (seriously, it’s that easy). I love chickpeas because they’re high in protein and low in calories. Also, in this recipe you can choose to make them with cinnamon and brown sugar if you have a sweet tooth, or with salt and cayenne pepper. If you read my blog regularly, you know I LOVE potatoes and french fries, and I have to be honest, when you use salt and pepper, it tastes a lot like french fries.

So, this is my super-busy-starving-and-tired weeknight menu. I hope it helps you out if you’re looking for something easy, fast, cheap, healthy and delicious. Happy Monday all! Lets make this the best week ever 🙂

Leave a Reply

