homemade tortilla soup

Growing up, I’ve always been very particular about my soups, and still am. But ever since the first time I tried this soup, it has been my absolute favorite! It’s great because all the flavors in it blend so well, and it’s got everything a vegetarian needs to keep healthy: beans and veggies. This recipe came from my best friend’s mom. Their family lives in the mountains where it gets colder than down here, so I’m sure that soups were excellent on many a night. While visiting over Thanksgiving two years ago, she made this soup, and it was hot and ready by the time my friend and I made it up the mountain. On this particular cold night, it was the perfect thing. I had to get the recipe, and I’m so excited to share it with you now!


Note: I’m adding soup to the list of things I need to learn to properly photograph.

What You Need:
4 garlic cloves (chopped)
1 tbsp cumin
1 yellow onion (diced)
1 green pepper (chopped)
2 4oz. cans diced green chiles
1 can diced tomatoes(drained)
2 cans whole kernal corn (drained)
1 can black beans (drained)
56 oz. (or 7 cups) Vegetable broth
Avocado (chopped,optional)
Cheddar cheese (grated, optional)
Tortilla chips

What You Do:
In a saucepan, sautee the garlic,cumin and onion until fragrant

Add the green pepper, chiles, and can of tomatoes. Then pour in the vegetable broth.

Simmer for about 30 minutes.

Add corn and black beans, then cook for another 10 minutes. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Serve over tortilla chips, with the cheese and avocado.

Messiness – This is really clean to make. You only need one pot to cook it all in and there’s minimal cutting. If you aren’t too good with a can opener, it could get messy, but overall, it’s very minimal cleanup!

Simplicity – Super simple. The first part requires a bit of attention, but other than that, you just open cans and wait for the flavors to combine in the most delicious way!

Budget – You can find these for about $1 per item, so it comes out to roughly $10- $15 for the whole thing, and you’ll get 6-8 servings from it. Since I typically cook for one, this one recipe will keep me fed for two days, at least.

Delicious Factor – So so yummy!! I absolutely love this on cold nights, or even on festive summer nights when you’re dinner al fresco. It will quickly become one of your simple, favorite weeknight meals.

Leave a Reply

