pita pizzas

If there is a fast, easy way to make pizza, you better believe I’ll find it. Ever since I was a kid, pizza has been my favorite food, so you can imagine my delight when it was declared a “vegetable” by the food pyramid people (even though a tomato is a fruit). I often keep those frozen pizzas around for those times when only pizza will do, but I know that ordering one means I’ll eat the whole thing. As I’ve mentioned, there’s only about 3 square feet of counter space in my kitchen so rolling dough is not an option, which is why I’m so glad I thought of the pita.

Round, thin, air filled, and individual pizza sized, the pita is truly the greatest make-shift crust I’ve seen. When I first started making this, it made me think of those mini pizza lunchables I’d beg my mom for as a kid, only cooked. And this is a million times better! So, are you ready for the fastest, simplest pizza recipe yet? Good. 🙂

Pita Pizzas

What You Need:
A pita
1-2 TBSP pizza sauce or spaghetti sauce
1/2 Cup mozzarella
Any other toppings you may want

What You Do:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees

Spread the sauce on the pita

Sprinkle the cheese and other toppings

Place on the oven rack, no baking sheet needed

Bake for 5 to 10 minutes or until the cheese is melty and bubbly

Carefully remove and serve!

NOTE: You can microwave it for a minute or two if you don’t have an oven. The crust won’t be crispy, but it will still be delicious!

Messiness – You don’t even need a plate (until you’re ready to eat)! Granted, the toppings can get messy depending on what you want, but if you just use a spoon to get the sauce in place, and you’re a careful sprinkler, then you’ll be just fine!

Simplicity – 15 minutes from start to finish (including cooking). When it comes to recipes that involve cooking, this is one of the fastest. And only three ingredients?! It’s a winner. I really like this as a last minute dinner option, especially if you’ve been busy. Since it’s individual, it seems a bit fancy when you serve it to others. Also, it’s a fun way to have a “pizza bar” (I can’t wait to try that with my family next time we’re all together)!

Budget – Since I only wanted cheese on my pizza, this cost $3 for a package of 6 pitas, a bag of shredded cheese and a jar of pizza sauce. How great is that?!

Delicious Factor – While I love a greasy piece of pizza as much as the next person, this is a suprisingly delicious and healthy alternative. The pita is not too bready and since you place it on the rack, it gets just the right amount of crispy and chewy. It’s impossible to have just one!

Leave a Reply

