happy valentines to you from you

I had no idea Valentine’s Day was today until yesterday, because honestly, it’s never been a big deal to me. I’m not an anniversaries or birthdays person because I really believe (as cliche as it is) that every day should be like those days. So, on Valentine’s Day, rather than spending hours, days or months planning (or expecting) an excellent Valentine’s Day surprise, I instead spend the time on myself. A bit narcissistic yes, but let’s be honest. How much time do you spend on yourself? Probably not very much. How much time do you spend doing things for other people? Lots! But who, when it comes down to it, is the one person in your life that you spend the most time with and have to constantly deal with? Yourself! So, on Valentine’s Day, I like to use it as an excuse to take it easy and do the things that I want to do. Like read a book without feeling guilty about my to-do list, or eat readily available candy and not hate myself for it. It’s a day to show yourself that you love you. And if you love yourself, we all know that the love will shine through to everyone else in your life. So, on this Hallmark holiday, whether you celebrate it or not, use today as an excuse to love yourself to pieces and take a few moments to just do what you want to and to celebrate the excellent person that you are, quirks and all! Happy Valentine’s Day loves!

Leave a Reply

