avocado salad and lime dressing

Before you read anything, I have to tell you, I have no idea how to take an excellent picture of a salad. New challenge for 2012? I think so. That being said, this salad and dressing is a million times better than it looks (I promise). It took me a long time to eat salad and enjoy it. I’ve never been a greens lover, certainly not mixed greens, but if there’s one thing I’ve learned in my quest to eat healthier, it’s that dressing can make the salad!! So, here’s an amazing salad, Winter or Summer that’s easy and delicious!

What You Need:

For the salad:
Mixed red and green leaves salad
4 scallions (diced)
5 tomatoes (sliced)
1/4 Cup of walnuts (toasted and chopped… and optional)
2 avocados (diced)
1 TBSP lemon juice

For the Dressing:
1 TBSP lime juice
1 tsp mustard
1 TBSP sour cream
1 TBSP fresh parsley or cilantro (chopped)
1 TBSP olive oil
Salt and pepper

What You Do:

Wash and dry lettuce then place in a bowl

Add the rest of the ingredients.

Mix the dressing in a seperate bowl, then drizzle over the salad.

Toss and enjoy!

Messiness – It’s salad, so unless you’re a crazy tosser (in the American version of the word, not the British version for our friends across the pond 🙂 ), then the salad should be pretty simple.

Simplicity – Four steps and no cooking! As you know, anything that doesn’t involve cooking is a winner in my book.

Budget – If you have the ingredients, then pretty cheap, except for the walnuts which is why they’re optional.

Delicious Factor – REALLY delicious! I’m learning that if I take the extra 5-10 minutes to chop stuff up, then your salad will undoubtedly taste better. So, since this has all of my favorite things in it, and it’s healthy, it’s delicious!

Leave a Reply

