best mashed potatoes. ever.

As I’ve mentioned before, potatoes are my favorite food. Mashed potatoes are among my favorite ways to eat them. At Thanksgiving and Christmas I always go back for more potatoes when everyone else is getting dessert. So, when I saw this recipe in Bon Apetit, I knew I had to try it. Yeah, it sounds pretty weird, and honestly, the celery root looks so awful that I almost gave up on the recipe, but I’m SO glad I didn’t. These are slightly more labor intensive than regular mashed potatoes, but definitely worth the effort.

Potato and Celery Root Mash (Recipe and photo found here)

What You Need:
2 1/2 pounds mixed russet, Yukon Gold, and white-skinned potatoes, peeled, cut into 2” cubes
1 1-pound celery root (celeriac), peeled, cut into 3/4” cubes
1 6” piece of horseradish, peeled, coarsely grated
1 1/2 cups sour cream
3 tablespoons Dijon mustard
2 tablespoons (1/4 stick) unsalted butter
Kosher salt

What You Do:
Place potatoes, celery root, and horseradish in a large pot. Add water to cover by 1”. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to medium-high, and simmer until vegetables are tender, 25–30 minutes.

Drain, reserving 1 cup cooking liquid. Return vegetables to pot; add sour cream, Dijon mustard, and butter. Using a potato masher, coarsely mash vegetables. Add reserved cooking liquid by tablespoonfuls if mash is too stiff. Season to taste with salt.

Messiness – Well, there’s quite a bit of peeling and chopping involved, but when potatoes are the result, it’s SO worth it.

Simplicity – As I mentioned up top, the celery root and horseradish require a bit more effort than just your standard masked potatoes. But again, the end product is more than worth it. You’ll trick people into thinking you have some sort of secret mashed potato recipe.

Budget – The only pricey thing in this recipe is the horseradish, but the flavor it adds is amazing. (About $4 for a 9″ piece – there were no smaller ones) Everything else I found at the dollar store or at my local farmers market.

Delicious Factor – I’ve decided that I will insist on making the potatoes for all holidays here on out. These potatoes are so good, that I know any others will leave me longing for these. Seriously, they are so good your family will name them after you.

Leave a Reply

