arborio stuffed peppers

Awhile ago I bought some Arborio rice in my naïve cooking way, because it was on sale, and when I previously made risotto, it was expensive. Well, after making risotto, I decided I don’t like it. However, I didn’t know that’s basically all that Arborio rice is used for (NOTE: I’d love your Arborio rice recipes if you have them). Granted, it’s just rice and I can cook it just like rice, but that just feels wrong for some reason (ridiculous, I know).

So, I found this recipe for stuffed peppers, which I’ve also wanted to try for awhile. Two “to-cook” things wrapped in one? I was definitely game. Once I started making this though, I decided the recipe was boring and needed improvement. I took the basics of it (i.e. how long to cook the pepper for, etc.) and enhanced it. This is another one of those recipes where you really can’t go wrong. If you try it, I’d love to hear some things you do to “make it your own!”

What You Need:
1 cup of water
1/2 cup of Arborio rice
2 green bell peppers
1 TBSP olive oil
2-3 garlic cloves
1 scallion
1 tsp dried Basil
1 tsp Italian seasoning
1/2 tsp cayenne
1 tomato
1 sweet pepper (any color)
1/2 cup mozzarella

What You Do:
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees

Lightly grease a baking sheet, or cover in foil, and place the bell peppers on it, halved and seeded and roast them for 20-30 minutes, or until very lightly browned

Boil water in a saucepan, and add rice. Simmer for about 20 minutes, or until the rice has absorbed all the water, stirring occasionally

In a skillet, heat the oil, then add the scallions, garlic, basil, Italian seasonings, salt and pepper for 2 to 3 minutes

Add tomato and sweet pepper, and cook for 5 minutes

Add the rice and heat for about 2 minutes

Turn the heat off and add the cheese, which will melt into the mix

Spoon the mixture into the pepper halves

That’s it!

Messiness – You need a few pots and pans to make this recipe happen, but it’s definitely worth it! And you can easily clean as you go.

Simplicity – It seems a lot more difficult than it is, but this recipe will make you look like a cooking pro.

Budget – I was able to find the peppers on sale so it was pretty cheap. If you can find these veggies at a discount, then you’ll make it for around $5-10 depending on how many things you already have in your kitchen.

Delicious Factor – I love this with the green peppers because they have a lighter flavor than yellow, orange or red. Also, you know you’re eating something healthy because you have so many different colored veggies in there. I try to eat as many colorful foods as possibly during the cold and flu months, and I’m happy to say I’ve avoided anything thus far! I digress; the blend of veggies is perfect and adds a tasty flavor to the rice when they’re combined.

Leave a Reply

