easy eggrolls

I’m so excited to share one of my new favorite recipes. It’s perfect for any occasion, whether you are planning on entertaing, ravenously hungry, or someone calls and says, “Hey! I’m out in Hollywood and going to stop by!” (which happens quite often in my case) The recipe is… drumroll please…

Eggrolls!

Never in a million years did I think that I’d be making eggrolls at this stage in my cooking journey, but thanks to the blog BudgetBytes, I realized, I can do this. While the original recipe was great, I’ve made some changes and altered it to my liking (which I highly encourage you to do as well). Nothing makes you feel as culinarily (yes, I made that word up) advanced as making a recipe “your own.” Also, another great part is they’re baked and not fried, adding to the health benefit. So, without further adieu, Eggrolls.

Prep time: 30 minutes
Cook time: 30 minutes
Total time: 1 hour (it’s a very quick hour)

What you need:
Oil
4 cloves of garlic
Soy sauce
Corn starch
Egg roll wrapped (note: for newbies like me, these are in a refrigerated section, which I figured out after spending 20 minutes scouring the “asian foods” aisle)
1 bag Shredded lettuce (or two medium heads)
1 bag Shredded carrots (or two medium carrots)
Sesame oil
3 green onions
ALSO, I recommend using a large, large skillet, or wok.

What you do:
Chop and saute the garlic and green oinins in the oil, until the garlic is brown.

Add the carrots. If you used whole carrots, you need to shred them with a grater (I’m lazy so I got it pre-shredded)

Add the lettuce. Cook until it is deflated and a bit wilted (about 10 minutes).

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

While that’s cooking, mix 1/2 TBSP corn starch and 1/4 cup of soy sauce. Once the lettuce is wilted, add this mixture. Add 1 tsp of sesame oil (or more if you want it to taste more strongly). Try your mixture to see if it’s flavored the way you want.

Lay out an eggroll wrapper (so it faces you in a diamond shape), and place a spoonful at one corner. Roll it up, tucking in the corners as you go.

Keep a small bowl of water nearby. Once the eggroll is all wrapped up, lightly use the water as a type of glue to keep the edges together.

Put the eggrolls on a baking sheet (they don’t expand or anything so they can be pretty close)

Bake for 20 minutes, turning them halfway into it.

Messiness – Pretty self-contained. The rolling is a tiny bit messy, but you get the hang of it quickly.

Simplicity – Once you get going, it’s unbelievably easy. Also, the cooking pretty much takes care of itself so that you can do other stuff, like dishes or whatever. Another benefit is you can add your own extras like (cooked) chicken and beef, for you meat eaters, or mushrooms and ginger.

Budget – Not super cheap but not expensive. The sesame oil is a big part of the cost increase, so if you’re on a tight budget, this is the main thing you can toss. It doesn’t add a ton of flavor, unless you really like it and want to use it. The next most expensive thing is the eggroll wrappers which are about $3-$5 for 24 of them. You should be able to find the pre-shredded produce, soy sauce, etc. at about $1 each.

Delicious Factor – 6/5. SO delicious! And so easy. For a fun party appetizer, you can serve with several sauces like peanut or red chili. I make these on the weekends when I’m sitting around writing, working and watching sports. They’re the perfect snack and meal. If you give it a try let me know how they turn out. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

