candy cane meringues

Okay, I haven’t posted in forever, and for that I apologize. Mostly, nothing has been going on. But I have some gems lined up for you, starting with this one. I subscribed to Bon Apetite magazine as an attempt to learn how to cook. While visually pleasing, I found most of the recipes to be involved and have a million different ingredients. Then, I found the Candy Cane Meringues.


(picture taken with my phone)

I had the pleasure of making these with my Grandma on Christmas Eve and they were a hit. Relatively easy, light and fluffy, they reminded me of Lucky Charms marshmellows. You can find the original recipe HERE, but below I’ve pasted mine with a few alterations.

What You Need:
3 Large egg whites
1/8 tsp salt
1/3 cup of sugar
1/2 cup of powdered sugar
1/4 tsp peppermint extract
12 drops red food coloring

Baking sheet
Parchment paper
Electric mixer (yes, this is necessary)

What You Do:
Preheat oven to 200 degrees.

Line baking sheet with parchment paper (I used foil and it worked okay, but parchment paper will be much better)

Beat egg whites and salt on a medium to high speed until it’s foamy. (approx. 3 to 5 minutes)

Add sugar in three additions, beating for one to two minutes in between. Continue beating until stiff peaks form.

Add powedered sugar and the peppermint extract. Beat until they’re blended.

Dot the food coloring on the surface. No mixing is needed.

Scoop into a pastry bag OR a plastic bag with the corner cut off about 1/2″ wide hole (or 1/2″ pastry tip).

Pipe them onto the paper. They won’t expand so don’t worry about them baking into each other.

Bake until they dry (about 2 1/2 hrs).

Let sit until they’re cooled and crispy. 20 to 40 minutes.

Enjoy!

Messiness – The spooning is a bit messy, but other than that, you’re good to go.

Simplicity – Really easy. So easy, that Grandma wanted the recipe to make on her own later. You do, however, need an electric mixer. I thought I could get away with a whisk; I was wrong.

Budget – Pretty cheap. You probably only need the peppermint extract and food coloring.

Delicious Factor – 5/5. It’s like a mixture of Lucky Charms marshmallows and cotton candy, with a hint of mint. They’re also very festive and you can pipe them into any shape (like hearts on Valentines Day).

Leave a Reply

