mexican mac and cheese

This month has been completely nuts! In addition to a very busy month at work, I’ve been trying to do this NaNoWriMo thing.

Confession: I’ve only written 20,000+ words, HOWEVER, have a solid outline and have every intention of finishing it within the next week and copyrighting it in two.

Anyways, I’ve also gotten to write for four new companies this month, including a documentary company. It’s all so cool and I feel incredibly blessed to have these opportunities.

All this being said, I’ve had virtually no time to try new recipies. This isn’t to say that I haven’t been cooking, but at this point I’ve gotten a few really delicious staples (you can find a few here, here, and here). I have another staple recipe coming up soon.

Recently, I’ve embraced the casserole as well. As a kid, I’d be stubborn and think that any casserole was awful because I didn’t like the word, however, as an adult I’ve realized these are essential to a busy schedule.

I found THIS RECIPE and had to make it. When two of my favorite food-related words are mixed together (“Mexican” and “mac and cheese”) it’s inevitable that I make it, no matter how unhealthy it may be.

Messiness – Super clean, however, three pots/pans are needed, which means there’s a bit of clean-up. Not much, but a bit.

Simplicity – So simple that you can do it even when you have a million things going on. I even let it cook 10 minutes too long and it was still great!

Budget – Very cheap, especially when you consider how much it makes. Around $5-10 for the whole thing, so roughly $0.83 a serving. Can’t beat that!

Delicious Factor – I’d give this a 4/5. I always try to make things according to the recipe once before making my own tweaks. However, I used 1/4 of an onion and it was more than enough. Also, I’d mix some red salsa in with the green, just a little, not a lot. I left out the meat, and it was still very, very good. The perfect Wednesday night dinner for one, or for a family. Just be careful, it’s high cal and impossible not to go back for seconds.

Leave a Reply

