brown sugar and cinnamon roasted chickpeas

For years I refused to eat the chickpea. As a kid, I learned that throwing these garbanzo beans off a balcony makes them explode, like the poppers you buy from the ice cream man. I though, “If that’s what they do on cement, maybe they’ll do that in my intestinal tract!” (I’m a classic hypochondriac) But then I found out what hummus was made of, and quickly changed my tune. As a vegetarian, these have become an important part of my diet.

So a while ago, I found a simple Martha Stewart recipe for fried chickpeas, but these were so greasy and so addicting that I figured, I might as well be eating potato chips. However, that recipe is delicious and super easy and I’ll post it here. Anyways, I had to find a healthier way to make these! Now, I don’t typically like sugary foods, but I ran across a recipe somewhere on the interwebs, perused it, then lost it! When I went back to make these, it was gone! So I had no choice but to make it up on my own. I know that I’m getting better at cooking when I can wing a recipe like this and it turns out amazing! Here it is:

Brown Sugar and Cinnamon Roasted Chickpeas

What you need:
Brown sugar
Cinnamon
2 cans of garbanzo beans/chickpeas (you’ll regret only making one)
Oil

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees.

Put the beans onto a baking sheet. No spray or butter needed.

Bake them for 30 to 40 minutes. They’ll be browned.

Take them out and drizzle them with oil.

Sprinkle the brown sugar and cinnamon on. The amount is totally up to you. I started with a little, tried it, then had to do more.

Fried Spicy Chickpeas

Oil
2 cans chickpeas
Salt
Cayenne

Heat up the oil in a skillet and put in the chickpeas.

Fry them until they are browned.

Once they’re browned, put them on a paper towel and get some of the oil off.

Put the beans in a bowl and toss with salt and a bit of cayenne pepper. How much is up to your discretion.

TIP: If you like the saltiness of the fried chickpeas, but don’t want to fry them, just roast them like in the first recipe and toss them using oil salt and cayenne pepper.

Messiness – Not messy. Just roasting and sprinkling. The frying is a bit more messy because of the draining of the oil.

Simplicity – Super simple! An easy appetizer for any party, especially an impromptu one.

Budget – Cheap! You probably have the oil and spices at your house, but if you don’t, then all you need is the garbanzo beans which are about $1 a can.

Delicious Factor – A healthy, sweet dessert or a simple salty bar snack. Either way, it’s hard to believe that this is good for you.

4 comments
  1. This sounds awesome! I often forget than chickpeas can be turned into little snacks rather like nuts can.

    • I had no idea, but I’m so glad I found out. Far less fats than nuts and just as good šŸ™‚

  2. I first had chickpea “popcorn” last year at a local bar and have been hooked ever since. Rosemary and sea salt make an excellent topping, too.

    • This sounds amazing! I hadn’t thought of that and love rosemary. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

