oven roasted tomato appetizers

Since my Sundays are happily filled with football, my snacks for the day have to be easy, filling and delicious so I’m not tempted to reach for that dreaded junk food (of which I am a big fan). Here’s my super simple, go-to snack/appetizer/light late-night meal.

Things you need:
6 tomatoes (or however many you like)
Cheese (your favorite kind)
Oil
Salt and pepper
Bagel chips (or any cracker)

Line a baking sheet in foil and preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Cut tomatoes into wedges (however big you want). I normally cut them into eighths.

Lay the tomatoes out on the baking sheet.

Drizzle oil on tomatoes.

Sprinkle salt and pepper (remember you can always add more later)

Sprinkle cheese (I love cheese so I put lots of it).

Bake for 45-60 minutes. They will start to look shriveled, but still juicy.

Voila! You’re done! A few tips and pointers:
You can make this taste any way you want! When I’m using a baguette, I’ll use mozerella cheese and oregano so it tastes like a pizza. For a spicy, Mexican-style snack, use pepperjack cheese and sprinkle some cilantro. For this pictured batch, I used cheddar, rosemary, and fresh mashed garlic. It’s great because you can get really creative with this recipe and pretty much do no wrong.

Messiness – It’s only messy if you want to seed your tomatoes (which I don’t normally do). Since you use foil on the tray, you just crumple it up when you’re done. Easy.

Simplicity – SUPER simple. To be honest, I just found the recipe for oven-roasted tomatoes and made the rest up, and I’m no cook by any means!

Budget – Under $5 for everything, and it makes lots of food. I recommend shopping at Fresh and Easy for the tomatoes. They normally have four large, ripe tomatoes for $1.

Delicious Factor – This is a huge hit every time I make it. It’s got veggies and bread so you get full pretty quickly and don’t feel bad about snacking on it. 5/5.

Leave a Reply

