book review: tell-all by chuck palahniuk

I am one of the biggest Chuck Palahniuk fans on the face of the planet. In fact, the book “Invisible Monsters” is one of the main reasons I decided to become a writer. I thought, “He just completely contorted my mind in order to comprehend this story.” That book was followed by “Fight Club,” “Diary,” “Rant,” “Choke,” “Lullaby,” “Snuff,” and the list goes on. For years my literary life was bliss. Then I tried out “Pygmy” and couldn’t get through the first two chapters. I was so sad. So when I read the description for “Tell-All” I thought maybe he was back, and had written something like the books I’d fallen in love with, by my reclusive “Pacific Northwestern” writer let me down again.

This book took me three months to read. A record for a Chuck book. My normal pace is two weeks because I can’t put it down, but I just couldn’t get into this one. I’m a professional screenwriter and I still found it difficult. But I stuck with it. I thought, “Surely there’s a twist at the end, something I’m not expecting. There’s got to be!” There wasn’t. It ended exactly like I predicted, with an overly forecasted “twist.” I thought that maybe I was missing something; that this book wasn’t as bad as I thought, so I looked up reviews. It seems as though everyone has had the same reaction. Hard to read, over-name dropping, slow, and boring.

Read it only if you’re a die-hard Chuck fan like me and can’t help missing out on one of his books. If you aren’t, save your time and re-read an old book of his. I’m hoping “Damned” is better.

On a positive note, there’s glitter on the cover, which I adore almost as much as animal print.

Leave a Reply

