movie review – tootsie

The other night I watched Tootsie, starring Dustin Hoffman and was quite surprised. I had no idea what it was about, but we had read about it in virtually every film class I’ve taken, so I figured it was about time that I rent it.

First of all, Hoffman makes a very convincing woman (either that, or I’ve lived in West Hollywood for too long). The funniest parts are when he legitimately thinks he’s a woman. It reminded me of the Family Guy episode when Peter actually thinks he’s a woman after attending a women’s retreat.

Second, the acting was great, from everyone. Those are situations that people rarely, if ever find themselves in. This means that they really have to act, and everyone did a great job. Hoffman is one of my favorite actors, ever since “The Graduate.” He’s always hilarious. this is probably why I kept thinking about “Mrs. Doubtfire” the whole time I was watching the movie. They are extremely similar in many ways, but the story lines couldn’t be more different.

The movie was a little long, but it was made before America’s attention span began waning so that’s understandable. It was really good, but wasn’t one of my personal favorites. I’d give it a 4/5 overall.

Leave a Reply

