NYC fantasy

Everyone has that one celebrity who they are “in love” with. You think about that fateful moment when you run into him/her on the street and he/she falls madly in love with you. Then you have a whirlwind romance and get married in Bora Bora at sunset. Confession: for me, this person is Mark Wahlberg. But you know that if you really ever met the person, this fantasy would be shattered. Life would not be anything like you had planned, and the person may even turn out to be a complete tool. Like when Marky Mark has his tight shirt on, then he takes it off and you see his third nipple.

New York is like that for me. I’ve visited and I absolutely love it. I could look at pictures all day long, much like I could of Marky Mark, but I could never be in a relationship with the city. I love looking at snowy window displays on Fifth Avenue and fashionable people fleeing to the Hamptons in summer. The skyscrapers and city lights always get the best of me when I’m watching shows like “Suits” or “Sex and the City” and I think to myself “One day I’ll live there.” But then I remind myself of the few experiences I’ve had.

While they were mostly wonderful, they were also pretty bad, and I’ve only been there four times. Like the first time I went, and my parents and I watched our waiter do a drug deal with a man in silk Louis Vuitton pajamas on rollerblades while a homeless man yelled profanities at my mother and me. The second time I went to NYC, I was lost in the rain, at midnight, outside Penn Station and surrounded by homeless people in an alley, and all by myself. Or how about the other time my friend and I wanted to see how magical NYC is at Christmas… and then there was a blizzard.

While I’ll always fantasize about NYC and the lively, dazzling place that it is, that’s all I’ll do. I may visit a few times a year, like I sometimes rent “Boogie Nights,” but for me NYC is nothing but a crush and fantasy I’ll always have, and always want to keep that way.

Here’s some pics I snapped during the blizzard in Central Park. Keep in mind it was around 20 degrees and little kids were pelting us with snowballs, which took away the romance of the moment, but at least the pictures turned out okay.

Leave a Reply

