27

27 is a crazy number in music history. Two of my favorite musicians of all time, Jimi Hendrix and Jim Morrison, both passed away at 27 along with Janis Joplin, Kurt Cobain and now, sadly Amy Winehouse. I was worried about Britney Spears for awhile as she was going through her head-shaving phase in her mid to late 20’s. Some of you may remember my declaration on the banks of the Guadalivir in Sevilla, Spain (brought about by the help of Frangelico – the nectar of the devil): “The two loves of my life, Jimi Hendrix and Jim Morrison died at 27 and I’m nervous the third love of my life, Britney Spears, will die too.” Well, THANKFULLY Britney made it, but today we lost another highly talented singer: Amy Winehouse. So today, this blog is dedicated to Amy and her beehive. May they rest in peace.

Back to Black (irony, anyone?)

And for the fans…

Jim Morrison (of whom I have a ridiculous amount of artwork and named my alter ego after)

Jimi Hendrix (who I had plastered all over my coffee table and named my other alter ego after)

Janis Joplin (who taught me you don’t need a good voice to sing)

Curt Cobain

Leave a Reply

