dinner

It’s uncharacteristically cold in LA for the winter Summer. Normally I’m on a very strict diet of little to no carbs, which is at times daunting since I’m a vegetarian. But today I went off course. It’s cold, the NFL is toying with my heartstrings, I was starving, and had been gone working/running errands for 14 hours (with 5 more of work ahead of me). I indulged and made an old favorite of mine and my former roomies: Garlic butter noodles. I added broccoli salad (the only time I’ll eat broccoli is in this salad). Here’s the links to the recipes if you’re a measurment fiend:

Hot Buttered Garlic Noodles

Sesame Broccoli Salad

Here’s my versions (which are great when you just want to use things you already have in your kitchen):

Butter Garlic Noodles

Make one pot of pasta (any kind)
Once it’s the tenderness you like (I’m a fan of al dente… cousin Vinny anyone? Anyone?) put a ton of butter in. If you’re worried about the calories, I hope you have fake butter (aka Margarine).
Mash a clove or garlic and stir it in.
Put some salt and pepper in if you want (I put salt on EVERYTHING… sorry heart).
And you’re done! I also like to put soy sauce on for some extra taste.

Modified Sesame Broccoli Salad
Steam the broccoli (how ever much you want).
Drain it and put it in a bowl (plastic, glass, whatever).
Pour in some rice vinegar, soy sauce and a tiny bit of honey.
Sprinkle crushed, dried red pepper (you know, the stuff you get from pizza places) on top (optional if you like it hot).
Let it marinade for a little while, making sure the sauce covers allllll the broccoli.

There you go! That’s my Cold Busy I’m-So-Mad-At-The-NFL Thursday night fix! It sounds like a lot of work, but it can’t take more than 30 minutes. Trust me, I’m a lazy cook.

Leave a Reply

