zucchini tots

This is a recipe that took me a few tries to figure out, but at least it still tastes yummy even when you mess it up!

I have been on a bit of a zucchini kick lately, and happen to love bite sized things, so when I saw a recipe for Zucchini Tots, I was all in!

They’re simple, crunchy and make great finger foods for an easy dinner, or football Sunday treats.

Make sure to read the notes below though, because these little things can be tricky!

Zucchini tots

What You Need:
1 cup zucchini, grated and wrung out
1 egg (1 large egg equals 3-4 tbsp when whisked together)
1 shallot
1/4 cup cheese (I used cheddar)
1/4 cup bread crumbs

What You Do:
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees

Spray a mini muffin tin with a nonstick spray (I thought just coating them in oil with a paper towel would work. I was so, so wrong. Get the nonstick spray!)

Mix the ingredients together (Make sure the zucchini has been wrung out. This is SO important so that they won’t be soggy)

Pack the mixture into the muffin tin

Bake until the tops gets brown, around 16 minutes

Enjoy!

Messiness - Here’s where things get complicated. Some recipes will tell you that you can get all of the zucchini juices out by squishing them between paper towels. I don’t know if I just had some super juicy zucchinis or what, but there was too much liquid for a couple of paper towels.

Instead, I just took handfuls of the grated zucchini and squeezed them in my hands. You’ll be blown away how much liquid those suckers have! I just squeezed until there was very little juices left, THEN patted them down with a paper towel. (There has to be a better way to do this! If you know one, I’m all ears :D )

After you’ve done all of that wringing out, THAT’s the zucchini you want 1 cup of.

Simplicity - All of that is a ton of work; I can’t lie. But when it comes down to eating guilt-free tots while watching the Oakland Raiders play football on Sunday, it’s worth it.

Also, after all of the work is done, the recipe is actually really, really simple!

Oh, and you can add things like oregano and basil (like I did above) and get Italian breadcrumbs for a different flavor.

Budget - CHEAP! Zucchinis are everywhere right now, cheese, eggs, breadcrumbs and shallots are all at your local 99 Cent store.

Delicious Factor – If you get the measurements right on, then they’re amazing! If there’s too much egg though, it may end up tasting more like a frittata than a tot.

2 comments
  1. LFFL said:

    I love making zucchini different ways.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

