southwest veggie salad

Hallelujah! I’ve found THE most delicious, simple recipe that I literally make it at work for my lunch. Sure, my lunch bag is filled to the brim, but I assure you it’s beyond worth it. This no-cook recipe just came to me one night, when I was having the worst sort of Mexican food craving. But with Summer around the corner, I would not let myself give into bean burritos.

You probably have all or most of these things in your house too! Since I’m just rambling about my infatuation with this recipe, I’ll get to it…

No-Cook Southwest Veggie Salad

What You Need:
1 can of corn (rinsed)
1 avocado (largely diced)
3 tomatoes (chopped)
2 TBSP packed cilantro (basically a handful)
1 scallion (diced, optional)
2 limes
1 can black beans (rinsed, optional)

What You Do:
Mix corn, tomatoes, cilantro, scallion and beans into a large bowl

Squeeze the juice of one lime over it all and toss. Taste it to see if you like it with more lime juice, then cut and squeeze the lime over it all.

Top with avocados and enjoy!

Messiness – Not messy at all! This is all pretty self-contained and very simple to prepare. You know I love anything that is a “no-cook” recipe too.

Simplicity – This is really simple. Again, the key word is “no-cook.” From start to finish, it shouldn’t take you much longer than 10 minutes. And it’s all really self-contained, so there’s virtually no clean-up.

Budget – Super cheap! You can get every ingredient for $1 or less. The tomatoes may be a bit more, but there’s a TON of produce in season right now.

Delicious Factor - So, so yummy! It’s one of those things that tastes really healthy, is healthy but is filling and delicious. Easily a 5/5 and I promise you’ll start making it about once a week.

TIP: To make it even healthier, leave the black beans out (unless you need them for protein like us vegetarians). Also, keep in mind that this will make several servings, so don’t eat the whole thing at once if you’re dieting (*points at self*).

1 comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

