asian fusion sesame broccoli and rice

You know those ingredients that you buy for one recipe, but rarely ever use it again? And then it sits on your shelf forever, and you wonder if you’ll ever get rid of it. Well, rice vinegar is that ingredient for me. And Arborio rice since I realized that I don’t actually like risotto, but bought a ton of it for some reason. So, I looked at my shelf and came up with this gem of a recipe. I was pleasantly surprised when it even smelled good, not like normal broccoli usually smells. There’s also a ton of variations to it as well (suggested below).

What You Need:
1 Cup Arborio rice
1/2 Cup water
1/2 Cup vegetable broth
2 Cups broccoli
1-2 TBSP crushed, dried red peppers
1 TBSP rice vinegar
1 TBSP Sesame seeds
1/2 Cup Mozzarella cheese (grated)
Soy sauce (optional)

What You Do:

Bring the water and broth to a boil, adding the red peppers

Then add the rice and broccoli

Boil until the rice has absorbed the liquid. Add more if needed to achieve your favorite rice tenderness.

Add the rice vinegar, sesame seeds and cheese, and mix them together

Serve with soy sauce if you like

Messiness – All you need is one pot, rather than cooking the broccoli and rice in separate pots. Also, you can get the cheese pre-grated making clean-up even easier.

Simplicity – This is super simple, but you can do a lot to “make it your own.” It’s one of the few recipes that I thought up without using another recipe as a basis, so I made it a couple ways. The first is that if you aren’t a big fan of salt, boil about 1/2 TBSP in the water rather than using soy sauce. It will add just enough to taste and complement the rice vinegar. If you like rice vinegar, you can add more or less. It just adds a subtle sweetness that the rice will absorb. Also, the cheese is optional, but let’s be honest, cheese makes everything better. With regard to the rice, you can use any kind of rice that you like. I just find Arborio to be a nice mix between pasta and regular rice.

Budget – Since I was trying to use up things on my shelves, this didn’t cost me anything. Something I’ve learned that saves money and helps me eat healthier, especially when I’m starving and don’t want to go to the store, is to keep broccoli on-hand. If you’re trying to lose weight, I highly recommend trying this tactic.

Delicious Factor – So good! The rice vinegar and soy sauce create perfect compliments to each other. I think you’ll really like it :)

2 comments
  1. Love it! Rice vinegar is the same thing for me too. I have some extra broccoli to use up this week and I think this recipe is just perfect. Thanks for sharing. I wonder if ordinary white rice will work?

    • I’m glad you like it! Regular white rice should be just fine :) I just happened to have a bunch of the other lying around.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

